2014 Governance Institute President honoured in award

Alan Evans, the 2014 President of Governance Institute of Australia, has been awarded the 2015 Climate Alliance Leadership Award as Company Secretary of the Year. The Climate Alliance Business Leadership Awards recognise Australian business leaders and organisations that have demonstrated leadership by addressing the opportunities or risks presented by climate change.

The awards highlight the work of those companies and individuals who go above and beyond the ‘business as usual’ approach by putting effort into new approaches and demonstrating leadership. Previous winners are the board of the National Australia Bank, AGL, Fujitsu and many other leading companies in Australia.

The winner of the Company Secretary of the Year award went to Alan Evans, Company Secretary of Hydro Tasmania.

Alan is a 10-year contributor to Hydro Tasmania’s 100 years of renewable energy and passionate about driving practical actions to address climate change. Alan also serves as the Chairman of Hydro’s South-African JV, Kakamas Hydro Electric Power. He has been active and instrumental in developing Hydro Tasmania’s King Island Renewable Energy Integration Project, which was a pilot to reduce reliance on diesel generation in remote areas by combining wind, solar and storage. This initiative won the 2014 Innovation Award from the Energy Supply Association of Australia.

Ms Michaela Healey, Group Executive People Communications & Governance at National Australia Bank presented the award on behalf of the bank, which sponsors the awards.

Alan Evans

See the winners of the 2014 Climate Alliance Leadership Awards.


Return to Newsletter